DEMCO Announces 2019-2020 Academic Scholarship Awards

Thu, 01/23/2020

Greenwell Springs, LA – DEMCO announced scholarship awards totaling $42,500 in the amount of $2,500 to each of seventeen member-students for the 2019/2020 academic year, listed below.

Benjamin Bateman, Louisiana State University; Jacob Cheatwood, Louisiana State University, Robert Chedville, Louisiana State University, Raena Disney, Louisiana Tech University, Shelby Evans, Louisiana State University, Haven Franklin, Grambling University, Corinne Heyl, Louisiana State University, Erin Johnson, Louisiana State University, Joshua Lachney, Louisiana State University, Hannah Page, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, Domenic Purdy, Louisiana State University, Balin Rogers, Louisiana State University Cle Sanchez, Louisiana Tech University, Terry Shipman, Louisiana State University, Tytiana Showers, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, Emilee Taylor, Louisiana State University, and Samuel Woodard, Louisiana State University.

“DEMCO is pleased to offer academic scholarships to our co-op member-students because we know that whenever we invest in our youth, our community benefits,” says Randy Pierce, DEMCO CEO and General Manager. This is the 26th year that DEMCO has awarded scholarships totaling $776,416 since the inception of the program.

DEMCO scholarships are awarded to DEMCO-member eligible students who attend a Louisiana public college or university, and funds can be used by the student as needed.

The scholarships are awarded from a pool of DEMCO member-students who apply to the random drawing held at the co-op’s annual membership meeting. Each scholarship award recipient is eligible to receive $1,250 per semester for the 2019/2020 academic year, for a total award of $2,500.

Each year DEMCO receives hundreds of applications from member-students in the DEMCO seven-parish service areas of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, and West Feliciana.

DEMCO is now accepting scholarship applications for the academic year 2020/2021 and invites DEMCO member-students to apply by May 1, 2020. This is the 27th annual scholarship offering through DEMCO.

Applicants must be a DEMCO member or a child or a legal ward of a DEMCO member who has been in good standing for at least 12 consecutive months as of May 1, 2020. The scholarship monies can be used by students to attend, on a full-time basis, any Louisiana accredited institution of higher education.

A complete list of eligibility requirements and the scholarship application can be found online at Applications must be submitted online or postmarked by May 1, 2020.

Winners will be selected at the DEMCO Annual Meeting held Saturday, May 9, 2020, by a random drawing and they need not be present to win.

DEMCO scholarship funds are not taken from normal operating funds. Through legislative changes made in 1993, unclaimed checks are allowed to remain in a general scholarship fund to assist co-op member-students within the DEMCO service area rather than forwarding the monies to the state’s general treasury fund.